Jimi Hendrix Winterland Box Set (8-LP) (DISCONTINUED)

Jimi Hendrix Winterland Box Set (8-LP) (DISCONTINUED)

Regular price $285.00 $79.98 Sale

Winterland is drawn from six stellar shows recorded over three days (October 10, 11, and 12, 1968) at San Francisco’s historic Winterland Ballroom.

These special performances celebrated the two-year anniversary of the Jimi Hendrix Experience and came just as the groundbreaking album Electric Ladyland was released.

Winterland presents some of Hendrix’s most spectacular guitar work and the eight 12″ vinyl LP set is filled with rare live versions of classic songs such as “Manic Depression,” “Are You Experienced?,” “Tax Free,” and “Little Wing” that are not part of any other Sony Legacy release.

Fans will also enjoy Hendrix’s dramatic interpretations of Cream’s “Sunshine Of Your Love” and Howlin’ Wolf’s “Killing Floor” [with the Experience joined by Jefferson Airplane bassist Jack Casady] as well his rendition of Bob Dylan’s “Like A Rolling Stone,” which has been selected as the lead track for this special release.

This special deluxe box set features never-before-released music from each of the six unforgettable Winterland performances. The new standard and deluxe editions of Winterland are markedly different from a single disc compilation, long out of print, that was briefly issued by Rykodisc in 1987 and 1988.

The deluxe edition also presents a rare interview with Hendrix recorded backstage at the Boston Garden a few weeks after the Winterland performances. This previously unreleased bonus provides fans with a unique window into Hendrix’s views about his background, his approach to the guitar and songwriting, and the future direction of his music.

The deluxe edition also features a 36-page book filled with previously unpublished images by acclaimed photographers Robert Knight, Allen Tannenbaum, and Jim Marshall as well as an essay by noted Rolling Stone journalist David Fricke.

Product details:

  • Format: LP Vinyl
  • Product Dimensions: 12.87 x 12.95 x 2.09 inches; 6.3
  • Manufacturer: ‎Sony Legacy
  • Original Release Date: 2011
  • Run time: 4 hours and 39 minutes
  • Date First Available: June 12, 2011
  • Label:‎ Sony Legacy
  • Number of discs: 8